Parliamentary By-election Norwich North

23rd July 2009

The by-election followed the resignation of Ian Gibson following his deselection over expenses claims.

[E] Conservative gain

Chloe SmithConservative13,59139.54%
Chris OstrowskiLabour6,24318.16%
April PondLibDem4,80313.97%
Glenn TingleUKIP4,06811.83%
Rupert ReadGreen3,3509.74%
Craig MurrayPut An Honest Man into Parliament9532.77%
Robert WestBNP9412.74%
Bill HoldenInd1660.48%
Howling LaudOfficial Monster Raving Loony Party1440.42%
Anne FryattNone of the Above590.17%
Thomas BurridgeLibertarian360.10%
Peter BaggsInd230.07%

Electorate: 75,124; Turnout: 45.76%;
Majority: 7,348 (21.37%)
Swing 16.49% Labour to Conservative

General election result

back Return to constituency index
Last Modified: 22 Oct 12